List of Icelandic Publishers

List of Icelandic Publishers

Below you find information on The Icelandic Publishers Association and a list of members in an alphabetical order:

Office of the Icelandic Publishers Association: 

Benedikt Kristjánsson, Managing Director, benk @ fibut.is tel.: +354 511-8020 / mob.: +354 863-4699 
Bryndís Loftsdóttir, Vice Director, bryndis @ fibut.is tel.: +354 511-8021 / mob.: +354 864 8522  
Chairman of the board of the Icelandic Publishers Association: Egill Örn Jóhannsson: egill @ forlagid.is tel.: +354 575 5600. Address: Forlagið, Bræðraborgarstíg 7, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland.

Address:

The Icelandic Publishers Association
Barónsstígur 5
101 Reykjavík
Tel: +354 511 8020 / +354 511 8021
Fax.: +354 511 5020
E-mail: fibut @ fibut.is

The Icelandic Publishers Association - List of members:

BF utgafan - Bokafelagid
Fákafeni 11
IS-108 Reykjavik - Iceland
Phone +354 615 1122
E-Mail jonas@bokafelagid.is www.bokafelagis.is
Dir. Jonas Sigurgeirsson

Bjartur - Veröld
Braedraborgarstíg 9
IS-101 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +354 414 1450
E-Mail bjartur@bjartur.is - verold@verold.is 
www.bjartur.is - www.verold.is
Publisher; Petur Mar Olafsson - pmo@bjartur.is
Publ. Dir. of Bjartur: Guðrún Vilmundardóttir - gv@bjartur.is
Publ. Dir. of Veröld: Bjarni Thorsteinsson - bjarni@bjartur.is
Fiction and non-fiction, Icelandic and translated. Literary agency.

Björk Publishing
Birkivöllum 30
IS-800 Selfoss - Iceland
Phone +354 482 1394, telefax +354 482 3894. 
E-Mail bokbjork@simnet.is 
Dir. Erlendur Daníelsson.
Children's books.

Bókabeitan ehf.
Dugguvogi 17-19
IS-104 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +354 588 6609
E-mail: bokabeitan@bokabeitan.is 
Birgitta Elín Hassel birgitta@bokabeitan.is 
Marta Hlín Magnadóttir - marta@bokabeitan.is 
Bókabeitan publishes quality books for children, teens and young adults, both Icelandic and translated.

Dugguvogi 10, IS-104 Reykjavík - IcelandPhone

Bókaforlagið Bifröst 

511 2400E-mail: 

 +354 

Dir. Björn Eiríksson

bokaforlagidbifrost@simnet.is

General fiction, non-fiction, children's books, biography, reference works, magazines, continuity series and book clubs.

Hagaseli 14IS-109 Reykjavík - IcelandPhone +354 587 2619 telefax +354 587 1180E-Mail: 

Bókaútgáfan Hólar ehf.

www.holabok.is
Dir. Gudjón Ingi Eiríksson - 

holar@holabok.is

 gudjon61@simnet.is

General fiction, non-fiction, sports books, biography, children´s books.Bókaútgáfan Sæmundur

Austurvegi 22, 
IS-800 Selfoss - Iceland
Phone +482 3079 / 897 3374
www.netbokabud.is 
Bjarni Harðarson - bokakaffid@bokkakaffid.is


Bókaútgáfan Æskan
Lautasmára 1 (8. hæð)
IS-201 Kopavogur - Iceland
Phone +354 530 5400.
www.aeskanbok.is
Karl Helgason – karl@aeskanbok.is 
Icelandic and translated fiction, children's books.

Codex Publishing
Logbergi - Haskola Islands
IS-105 Reykjavik - Iceland
Phone +354 847 0009
E-Mail bc@bc.is
Codex Publishing specialises in publishing law books, i.a. treatises and handbooks on law. 

Baronsstig 27,
IS-101 Reykjavik - Iceland
Phone +354 511 0910, +354 899 7869
E-Mail: 

Crymogea

 
www.crymogea.isPublisher: Kristjan B. Jónasson - 

crymogea@crymogea.iskbj@crymogea.isCrymogea specializes in publishing quality illustrated books on art, photography, design and architecture for the general trade and in limited editions.

Dimma 
Skolavordustíg 27
IS-101 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +354 562 1921, +354 897 5521
E-Mail: dimma@dimma.is 
Dir. Aðalsteinn Ásberg Sigurðsson.
Contemporary poetry and fiction, children's books, audio books and music.

Draumsýn
Naustabryggju 54
IS-110 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone: +354 566 5004
E-Mail: dsyn@dsyn.is 
Publisher: Örn Þ. Þorvaldsson - ornth@dsyn.is 

Forlagid
Bræðraborgarstíg 7, 101 Reykjavík
Phone +354 575 5600 - Fax + 354 575 5601
E-mail: forlagid@forlagid.is 
www.forlagid.is
Publisher: Jóhann Páll Valdimarsson - johann@forlagid.is 
Manager: Egill Örn Jóhannsson - egill@forlagid.is 
Foreign rights: Hólmfríður Matthíasdóttir - ua@forlagid.is 
Icelandic fiction and non-fiction, translated fiction, biography, illustrated books, children´s books, school books, books on Iceland, maps.
The following imprints belong to Forlagid:
JPV útgáfa | Mál og menning | Vaka – Helgafell | Forlagið | Iðunn

Hið íslenska bókmenntafélag (The Icelandic Literary Society, est. 1816)
Skeifunni 3 B
IS-108 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +354 588 9060, telefax +354 581 4088
E-Mail hib@islandia.is 
www.hib.is
Man.dir. Ólöf Dagný Óskarsdóttir
Dir. Sverrir Kristinsson
President Sigurdur Líndal
Publishers of high quality books on Icelandic saga, philosophy, literature and art, Skírnir (est.1827), - the oldest annual magazine of Nordic countries. Distributors of the leading Icelandic language edition of Old Icelandic texts with introduction and notes by The Old Icelandic Text Society.

Hljodbok slf. Audio Book Publishing
Armula 7b
IS-108 Reykjavik - Iceland
Phone +354 534 1100, +354 820 0782
E-Mail: herdis@hljodbok.is 
www.hljodbok.is
Dir. Herdis Hallvardsdottir
Icelandic audio books and ethnic Icelandic music on CD´s and DVD´s. 

Iðnú publishing
Brautarholti 8
IS-105 Reykjavik - Iceland
Phone +354 517 7200, telefax +354 562 3479
E-Mail: idnu@idnu.is
www.idnu.is
Dir. Heidar Ingi Svansson - heidar@idnu.is 
IÐNÚ publishing is a non-profit publishing house, publishing educational material and textbooks for upper secondary schools and colleges, concentrating on vocational training. IÐNÚ is also the publisher of high quality maps of Iceland.

Jentas 
E-mail: info@jentas.is 
www.jentas.is
Dir. Sigrun Halldors - sigrun@jentas.com 

Krydd í tilveruna ehf

Heidarhjalla 5
IS - 200 Kopavogur - Iceland
Phone +354 892-3334
E-mail krydd@simnet.is 
Dir. Aevar Gudmundsson
Children's books, cookery books

Menntamálastofnun (Directorate of Education)
Vikurhvarf 3
IS- 203  Kopavogur - Iceland
Phone +354 514 7500, telefax +354 535 0401
E-Mail simi@nams.is 
www.namsgagnastofnun.is
Managing director Arnór Guðmundsson- arnor.gudmundsson@mms.is 
Publishing manager Hafdís Finnbogadottir - hafdis@mms.is 

Námsgagnastofnun – National Centre for Educational Materials – is a non-profit publishing house, run by the Icelandic government. It's role is to publish and distribute educational materials, including textbooks, audio-visual materials, educational software and web-based materials for primary and lower secondary  schools.

Opna Publishing
Skipholti 50b
IS-105 Reykjavik - Iceland
Phone +354 578 9080
E-Mail: opna@opna.is 
Publisher. Sigurdur Svavarsson - sigurdur@opna.is 
Non-fiction, Icelandic and translated, Biographies, Dictionaries, Art and Illustrated books.

Ormstunga

Ránargötu 20
IS-101 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +354 561 0055
E-Mail books@ormstunga.is 
www.ormstunga.is
Dir. Gísli Már Gíslason
Icelandic fiction and non-fiction, translated fiction, biography, children´s books, a literary periodical (Jón á Bægisá) devoted to translations.

Óðinsauga útgáfa

IS- 270 Mosfellsbaer
Phone:+354  866 8800
E-mail: kaupsala@hotmail.com / info@odinsauga.comStórikrika 55
www.odinsauga.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/odinsauga/
Publisher: Huginn Þór Grétarsson 

Runatyr Publishers
Bergstadastraeti 38
IS-101 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone: +354 665 8118
E-Mail: runatyr@runatyr.is 
www.runatyr.is Dir. Þorsteinn Mar 


Salka
Grensásvegi 1
IS-108 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +354 552 1122, telefax +354 552 8122
E-Mail: salka@salka.is 
www.salka.is 
Dir. Dögg Hjaltalín - 
Concentrating on different kind of books by women, for women and about
women. Focusing on contemporary and classic works, Icelandic and translated fiction, as well as quality non-fiction, autobiographies, recipe books, audio books and CD´s.

Sena
Skeifan 17
IS-108 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +354 591 5100
E-Mail sena@sena.is 
www.sena.is 
Dir. Jon Thor Eythorsson – jonthor@sena.is 

Icelandic fiction and non-fiction, translated fiction, biography, illustrated books, children´s books, books on Iceland.

Setberg
Akralind 2
IS-201 Kópavogur - Iceland
Phone +354 551 7667, telefax +354 552 6640, 
E-Mail: setberg@setberg.is 
www.setberg.is
Dir. Ásdís Arnbjörnsdóttir
Reference- and encyclopaedias for children, fairy tales end colour illustrated books for children.

Skálholtsútgáfan – (National Church Publishing)
Laugavegi 31
IS-101 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +354 552 1090
E-Mail skalholtsutgafan@skalholtsutgafan.is 
Dir. Edda Möller - edda@kirkjan.is 
www.skalholtsutgafan.is 
Non-fiction, religion, children's books. 

Laugavegur 163a, 
IS-105 ReykjavíkPhone: 551-6400, E-mail: 

Skólavefurinn ehf.skolavefurinn@skolavefurinn.is

Dir. Jökull Sigurðsson - 

www.skolavefurinn.isjokull@skolavefurinn.isPrimarily a web and multimedia company, Skólavefurinn (the SchoolWeb) publishes a wide variety of educational books as well as a classic literature and poetry. All of Skólavefurinn's books are backed up with extensive online support on the company's website. Skólavefurinn uses every aspect of multimedia, in the widest sense of the word, to educate and entertain.

Skrudda
Eyjarslod 9
S-101 Reykjavik - Iceland
Phone +354 552 8866
E-Mail skrudda@skrudda.is 
www.skrudda.is
Dir. Steingrimur Steinthorsson
Icelandic fiction and non-fiction, translated fiction, biography, illustrated books, children´s books, books on Iceland.

Krókhálsi 6IS-110 Reykjavík – IcelandPhone: +354  571 7500E-Mail:  

Skynjunskynjun@skynjun.is

www.skynjun.is

Stefán Hjörleifsson CEO - 

www.ebaekur.isstefan@skynjun.iseBooks, audiobooks, online services.

Steinegg
Mosarima 37
IS-112 Reykjavik - Iceland
Phone +354 587 8870, telefax +354 587 8860, 
E-Mail steinegg@steinegg.is 
www.steinegg.is
Dir. Eggert Isolfsson - eggert@steinegg.is 
Giftbooks and children's books.

Sogufelag
 (The Historical Society)
Skeifunni 3b
IS-108 Reykjavík - Iceland 
Phone +354 588 9060
E-Mail: sogufelag@sogufelag.is 
www.sogufelag.is
President: Gudni Th. Jóhannesson
Manager: Ólöf Dagný Óskarsdóttir
Non-fiction, history.

Sögur Publishing
Fákafeni 9
IS-108 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone: +354 557 3100
E-mail: sogurutgafa@sogurutgafa.is  
www.sogurutgafa.is
Publisher: Tómas Hermannsson - tomas@sogurutgafa.is  
Managing director: Jóhann Fridrik Ragnarsson - johann@sogurutgafa.is

Publisher of general fiction, biography, educational books, illustrated books, children books, audios, CD's and DVD's.

Tindur Publishing
Kotárgerði 1
IS-600 Akureyri - Iceland
Phone + 354 777 2777
E-mail: tindur@tindur.is 
www.tindur.is
Dir. Helgi Jónsson

Icelandic fiction and non-fiction, Icelandic Soccer Yearbook, books for children and young adults, biographies and translated fiction.

Ugla útgáfa
Hraunteigi 7 
IS-105 Reykjavík - Iceland 
Phone: +354 698 9140
E-mail: nb@simnet.is 
www.uglautgafa.is 
Publisher: Jakob F. Ásgeirsson

Publishers of general fiction, non-fiction, biography, children's books, classic fiction and a quarterly on politics and current affairs.

Unga ástin mín (Lullaby)
Fákafeni 11 
IS - 108 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +44 01954710138, +354 499 2418, +354 618 1210
E-mail: stina@ungaastinmin.is
Web: www.ungaastinmin.is
Dir. Kristin Þorsdottir

Children´s books

Unga ástin mín is an imprint belonging to BF utgafan - Bokafelagid

University of Iceland Press / Háskólaútgáfan
Dunhaga 18
IS-107 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +354 525 4003
E-Mail hu@hi.is 
www.haskolautgafan.hi.is
Dir. Jörundur Gudmundsson - jorig@hi.is 
Styrmir Godason - styrmir@hi.is 
Sigríður Harðardóttir  - sigridurh@hi.is 
Egill Arnarson - egillarn@hi.is 

Academic books and journals, English end Icelandic titles on Norse studies, Icelandic language studies, history, philosophy and other subjects.

Uppheimar

Stórhöfdi 24
IS-110 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +354 511 2450
E-Mail uppheimar@uppheimar.is 
www.uppheimar.is
Publisher: Kristjan Kristjansson - kristjan@uppheimar.is 

Icelandic fiction and non-fiction, translated fiction. 

Útkall

Sundaborg 9
IS-104 Reykjavik - Iceland
Phone + 354 562 2600, telefax +354 562 3051.
E-Mail halfdan@centrum.is 
Dir. Halfdan Örlygsson

Vestfirska forlagid

Brekku
IS-471 Þingeyri - Iceland
Phone +354 456 8181
E-mail jons@snerpa.is 
Dir. Hallgrímur Sveinsson.
Concentrating on books of life of the inhabitants of the Western fjords of Iceland and history of that part of the island.

 


 

Associate membership ( Printer´s companies)

Ingólfsprent ehf.
Akralind 7
IS-201 Kópavogur - Iceland
Phone +354 554 4090, telefax +354 554 4079
E-mail: jonaskels@simnet.is 
Dir. Jón Óskarsson.

Oddi Printing Ltd.

Höfdabakka 3-7
110 Reykjavík - Iceland
Phone +354 515 5000, fax +354 515 5001, 
E-Mail oddi@oddi.is 
www.oddi.is

Siglufjardarprentsmidja
Midvangi 127
IS-220 Hafnarfjordur - Iceland
Dir. Jón Saemundur Sigurjonsson