Nominations for the Nordic Council Literature Prize 2018

Icelandic authors Sigurður Pálsson and Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir are nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize 2018, for the poetry collection Ljóð muna rödd and the novel Ör.


File_1519310397771The Icelandic nominations for the Nordic Council Literature Prize 2018 are the novel Ör (Scars) by Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir (Benedikt publishing, 2016) and the poetry collection Ljóð muna rödd (Poetry Remembers Voice) by Sigurður Pálsson (Forlagið/JPV, 2016).

Sigurður Pálsson passed away last year. Ljóð muna rödd was his last book and nominated for the Icelandic Literary Prize 2017 and awarded the Icelandic poetry prize, Maístjarnan, last year. Sigurður was also nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize in 1993. Auður Ava and Kristín Jóhannesdóttir, Sigurður's widow, received the nominations.

Auður Ava was awarded the Icelandic Literary Prize 2017 for Ör, which is being translated into several languages.



The winner will be announced on October 30th

The winner of the prize and DKK 350,000 will be announced on October 30th at the Oslo Opera House in conjunction with the Session of the Nordic Council.


The national members of the adjudicating committee for the Nordic Council Literature Prize have nominated the following 13 works for the Nordic Council Literature Prize 2018.


Velsignelser by Caroline Albertine Minor. Short stories, Rosinante, 2017.

Indigo. Roman om en barndom by Vita Andersen. Novel, Rosinante, 2017.


God morgon by Susanne Ringell. Short prose, Förlaget M, 2017.                  

Ontto harmaa by Olli-Pekka Tennilä. Poetry collection, Poesia, 2016.

Faroe Islands

Gudahøvd by Jóanes Nielsen. Poetry collection, Mentunargrunnur Studentafelagsins, 2017.                     


Illinersiorluni ingerlavik inussiviuvoq by Magnus Larsen. Autobiography, Maanuup atuakkiorfia, 2017.


Ör by Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir. Novel, Benedikt bókaútgáfa, 2016.

Ljóð muna rödd by Sigurður Pálsson. Poetry collection, JPV Útgáfa, 2016.


Jeg har ennå ikke sett verden by Roskva Koritzinsky. Short stories, Aschehoug, 2017.

Begynnelser by Carl Frode Tiller. Novel, Aschehoug, 2017. 


Tapeshavet by Gunnar D Hansson. Poetry collection, Albert Bonniers Förlag, 2017.

Doften av en man by Agneta Pleijel. Novel, Norstedts, 2017.


Algot by Carina Karlsson. Novel, Schildts & Söderströms, 2017.

About the Nordic Council Literature Prize

The Nordic Council Literature Prize, awarded since 1962, goes to a work of fiction written in one of the Nordic languages. In this context, a work of fiction is considered to be poetry, prose, or drama that meets high literary and artistic standards. The purpose of the prize is to promote interest in the literature and language of the neighbouring countries, as well as in the Nordic cultural community.

Senda grein