Nominations for the Nordic Council Literature Prize 2019

5. March, 2019 News

Kristín Ómarsdóttir and Kristín Eiríksdóttir are nominated, on behalf of Iceland, for the Nordic Council Literature Prize 2019.


A novel and a poetry collection nominated

The Icelandic nominations for the Nordic Council Literature Prize 2019 are the poetry collection Kóngulær í sýningargluggum (spiders in shop windows) by Kristín Ómarsdóttir (Forlagið, 2017) and the novel Elín, ýmislegt (A Fist or a Heart) by Kristín Eiríksdóttir (Forlagið, 2017).


Thirteen works nominated

Thirteen Nordic novels, short stories, and poetry collections have been nominated for the 2019 Nordic Council Literature Prize. The winner will be announced in Stockholm this autumn, with the following works competing for the prize.


Efter Solen by Jonas Eika. Short stories, Basilisk, by Helle Helle. Novel, Rosinante, 2018.


Tristania by Marianna Kurtto. Novel, WSOY, 2017.Där musiken började by Lars Sund. Novel, Förlaget, 2018.


Arpaatit qaqortut by Pivinnguaq Mørch. Short stories and poems, Milik Publishin…


Elín, ýmislegt by Kristín Eiríksdóttir. Novel, Forlagið, 2017.Kóngulær í sýningargluggum by Kristín Ómarsdóttir. Poetry collection, Forlagið,…


Det er berre eit spørsmål om tid by Eldrid Lunden. Poetry collection, Aschehoug…Jeg lever et liv som ligner deres. En levnetsbeskrivelse by Jan Grue. Autobiogr…

The Sami Language Area

Ii dát leat dat eana by Inga Ravna Eira. Poetry collection, Davvi Girji, 2018.


Nonsensprinsessans dagbok. En sjukskrivning by Isabella Nilsson. Poetry collect…Människan är den vackraste staden by Sami Said. Novel, Natur & Kultur, 2018.


Det finns inga monster by Liselott Willén. Novel, Albert Bonniers Förlag, 2017.

The works have been nominated by the national members of the adjudicating committee for the 2019 Nordic Council Literature Prize.


Winner to be announced on 29 October

The winner of the 2019 Nordic Council Literature Prize will be announced on 29 October in Stockholm in conjunction with the Session of the Nordic Council. The winner will receive the Northern Lights statuette and DKK 350,000.

About the Nordic Council Literature Prize

The Nordic Council Literature Prize was first awarded in 1962. It goes to a literary work written in one of the Nordic languages, such as poetry, prose, or drama that meets high literary and artistic standards.

The purpose of the Nordic Council's five prizes is to raise interest in the Nordic cultural community and Nordic co-operation on the environment, as well as to recognize outstanding artistic and environmental efforts. 

Latest news

New & accessible website where you can look for translators - 10. September, 2019 News

Translators from Icelandic into several foreign languages can be found on the website, together with information about their education, career and selected translations.


At the Göteborg Book Fair Icelandic authors discuss tradition, modernity, imagination, lyricism, crime fiction, and superheroes … - 26. August, 2019 News

Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir, Kristín Ómarsdóttir, Ragnar Jónsson, and Sigrún Eldjárn are Iceland's representatives at the Fair in September.


New grants: Reader's Report Grants - 15. August, 2019 News

Publishers and agents outside of Iceland can apply. Next application deadline is 16 September.


All news